How To Delete ebay Account

Post date:

Author:

Category:

48 / 100

How to Delete Your eBay Account Quickly and Easily

The page outlines the procedure for closing your eBay account. It offers advice on how to deactivate your account rather than delete it as well as details on the conditions you must satisfy before doing so.

How to Delete an eBay Account

Before you begin the account closing process, make sure everything is in order:

  • You must have no outstanding balances with buyers, sellers, or the site itself. All fees must be paid, and your balance must be zero before you can close your account.
  • You must have no unresolved suspensions or restrictions.
  • You can’t be actively bidding on any items. If you are, either cancel those eBay bids or wait for the auction to end before deleting your account.

If you tick all of those boxes, you’re ready to delete your eBay account. Here are the steps to follow:

  • Go to the eBay homepage and log in to your account
  • Go to My eBay, then select the Account tab.
  • Select the Close my account link from the right-hand side.

  • You are taken to a help page that does its best to dissuade you from following through with your deletion. If you’re dead set on deleting your account though, continue the instructions below. If something has been bothering you about eBay or your account, it might be worth looking through the arbitration options.

  • Under the Closing, your eBay account heading, read through the steps to make sure you meet the requirements. When ready, select the blue to submit a request to close your account text.

  • You are then asked to explain why it is you want to close your account. Use the drop-down menu to select your reason and, if prompted, select a more detailed reason.

  • Select Continue.

  • eBay may offer help to try and alleviate the issue without closing your account. If you’re determined, stick to your guns and select No, please close my account from the drop-down menu and then select Continue again.

  • Read through the information about closing your account on the final page. When ready, tick the box to confirm you’ve read everything and select Continue one last time to confirm the deletion.

    eBay has been notified of your request to cancel your account. Within 24 hours, you get an email confirmation to let you know it was received. The account is closed within 30 days if you haven’t bought or sold anything with it in the previous 60 days. The account is still active for 60 days if you’ve recently used it.

    During the grace period, you can change your mind at any moment; but, after that point, the account will be canceled. You must create a new account if you wish to use eBay once more.

    What Happens When I Delete My eBay Account?

    When you start the process of deleting your eBay account, it doesn’t happen right away, but if you finish it, it’s a permanent move. You lose your ability to buy or sell on the website, all of your comments, and your purchase and sales history—useful information if you can’t remember when, where, or from whom you last made a purchase.

    Remove your automatic payment settings and terminate any ongoing eBay subscriptions to deactivate your eBay seller account rather than deleting it.