Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC) was established by Decree No. 49 of 1989 and later amended by Decree 98 of 1993 (now RMAFC Act CAP R7 LFN 2004) under Section 153(1) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (As Amended), the Commission is listed as one of the fourteen (14) Federal Executive Bodies.  It has a Chairman and Members from each State of the Federation and the Federal Capital Territory appointed by the President.

Functions/Powers of the Commission

The functions of the Commission as provided under Paragraph 32(a-e) of Part I to the Third Schedule of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (As Amended) are as follows:

(a)     monitor the accruals to and disbursement of revenue from the Federation Account;

(b)     review, from time to time the revenue allocation formulae and principles in operation to ensure conformity                  with changing realities; Provided that any revenue formula which had been accepted by an Act of the National              Assembly shall remain in force for a period of not less than five years from the date of commencement of                        the Act;

(c)     advise the Federal and State Governments on fiscal efficiency and methods by which their revenue can be                      increased;

(d)     determine the remuneration appropriate for political officeholders including the President, Vice President,                  Governor Deputy Governors, Ministers, Commissioners, Special Advisers, Legislators and the holders of the                offices mentioned in Sections 84 and 124 of this Constitution; and

(e)     discharge such other functions as are conferred on the Commission by this Constitution or any Act of the                      National Assembly.

Membership of Statutory Bodies

For the purpose of performing its functions, the Commission’s Act Cap R7 LFN, 2004 made the Commission a            statutory Member of the following Bodies/Agencies:

(a)     The Federation Account Allocation Committee (FAAC);

(b)     The State Joint Local Government Account Allocation Committee (SJLGAAC);

(c)     The Joint Tax Board (JTB);

(d)     The Niger-Delta Development Commission (NDDC; and

(e)     The Commission on Ecological Fund;

Furthermore, the Act also empowers the Commission to demand and obtain regular and relevant information,             data or returns from any Government Agencies including the following:

(a)     The Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC);

(b)     The Nigerian Customs Service (NCS);

(c)     The Board of Federal Inland Revenue (FIRS);

(d)     The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN); and

(e)     The Federal Ministry of Finance (FMF)