How To Leave A Facebook Group

Post date:

Author:

Category:

64 / 100
This article explains how to delete a Facebook group from a desktop or mobile device. You can take this action if you find that you are getting too many group alerts or that you don’t fit in with the group’s culture in general.

How to Leave a Facebook Group on a Desktop

Regardless of the browser you use or the operating system, you are using, the desktop instructions function the same.

  1. Log into your Facebook account and select the Groups icon along the left navigation bar.

Selecting the group name at the top of one of the group notifications in your Facebook news feed is an additional way to go straight to the group page. In that case, move on to step three.

2. You’ll see all of your groups under Groups You’ve Joined in the navigation section. Select the group that you want to leave.

You must choose the group under the Groups You Manage section rather than the Groups You’ve Joined part if you are the administrator or moderator of a Facebook group. The rest of the process is the same as what is detailed below.

3. This will take you to the specific group page. On the upper right, select the icon with the three dots. Then, select Leave group from the dropdown menu.

4. You’ll see a confirmation window appear. Select Leave Group to finish the process and leave the group permanently.

If you want to ensure that you won’t hear anything more from the group or its members after you leave, you can enable Prevent individuals from inviting you to join this group again.

How to Leave a Facebook Group on a Mobile

If you’re using the official Facebook app, the mobile instructions below work for both Android and iOS devices.

  1. Sign in to the Facebook app on your mobile device. Select the three-line menu icon at the upper right.

  2. Scroll down this screen and select the Groups block.

  3. You’ll see a page that displays all of your group notifications. At the top, you’ll see a list of your groups as large icons. You can swipe right or left to look through these and select the group you want to exit.

  4. This will open the group. Select the three-dot icon at the upper right corner of the screen to open the group Tools menu. Select the Leave Group icon.

  5. You’ll see a confirmation message asking if you really want to leave the group. Select Leave Group to complete the process.

    If you select More Options, you can Turn Off Notifications rather than leaving the group altogether. This way, you can stop annoying group notifications but still visit the group.

  6. Once you permanently leave the group, you’ll see a confirmation message. You may also have the option to report the group to Facebook if you’ve left the group because of something inappropriate, harmful, or any other reason.