How To Hide Facebook Mutual Friends

Post date:

Author:

Category:

60 / 100

Learn How to Hide Mutual Friends on Facebook in 2022

Want to keep your Facebook mutual friends private? Facebook has more than 2.8 billion members, making it the most widely used social media site.

Nobody in my social circle lacks a Facebook account. Perhaps no one you are aware of does not have a Facebook account.

Look no further if you want to conceal your shared friends from folks on your Facebook Friends list or from visitors to your page who are not Facebook friends.

I’ll demonstrate how to hide mutual friends on Facebook on both desktop and mobile throughout this article.

Let’s get right into it without further ado.

How to Hide Mutual Friends On Facebook

By adjusting their “Who may see your friend list” privacy setting to “Only Me,” Facebook users can conceal their shared friends. Facebook has introduced a number of privacy tools over the past few years that give users complete control over their profiles. You may now preserve your privacy without having to block people by locking your profile and hiding your shared friends.

You may easily enable some of these features by going to Privacy Settings.

I’d like to demonstrate how to conceal mutual friends on Facebook for desktop and mobile devices in this article:

How to Hide Facebook Mutual Friends on Desktop?

Want to hide mutual friends on Facebook while you’re using your Desktop? Follow these exact steps to know how to do so:

  1. Head over to www.facebook.com and log in to your account if you haven’t done so.
  2. While you’re on your Facebook profile homepage, hover over your mouse to the top-right corner and tap on the Drop-Down button.
  3. Of the different options you see, select “Settings & Privacy.”
  4. As you select “Settings & Privacy,” select “Settings.”
  5. In the left-hand navigation bar, select “Privacy.” You’ll find it below “Your Facebook Information” and above “Face Recognition.”
  6. You’ll see countless privacy features – which you can tap into to protect your privacy. Scroll and you’ll find the “Who can see your friend’s list” option in the “How People Find and Contact You” section.  As you can see, I’ve set it to “Public,” which means anyone can see my friends list. But now – let’s change this and protect my privacy. Click on “Edit.”
  7. As you select “Edit,” a drop-down screen will appear.

For me – it’s set to “Public.” But for you, it may be set to:

  • Friends – Only your friends can see your friends list.
  • Friends Except – You can select friends who you wouldn’t like to see on your friend list.
  • Specific Friends – Some of your friends can only see the list.
  • Only Me – Only you and you yourself can see your friends list.
  • Custom – You can add the name of people who you’d like to share with or people with who you wouldn’t like to.

So – if it’s set to anything other than “Only Me,” we’ll change it to “Only Me.”

8. Select “Only Me.”

Nobody other than you will be able to see which Facebook friends you have in common if you choose “Only Me.”

NOTE: Even though you choose the “Only Me” option, the second person (who you wish to hide) must adjust the settings to “Only Me” if you want one of your mutual friends to be visible to a third party. Otherwise, you’ll appear on the second person’s list of friends as a common friend to the third person.

How to Hide Facebook Mutual Friends on Your Smartphone?

Want to hide mutual friends on Facebook via a mobile application?  Follow these exact steps to know how to do so:

  1. Launch your Facebook application if you haven’t done so already.
  2. In the top-right – below the Messenger icon, you can see three vertical lines. Tap on those three lines:
  3. Now, just below the three vertical lines, you’ll be able to see the settings icon. Tap on it.
  4. Now, you’re in the Settings section. There you’ll see different types of settings options like “Account,” “Preferences,” “Audience & Visibility” and more. Scroll down to find “Audience & Visibility” and select “How People Find and Contact You.”
  5. Under “How People Find and Contact You,” you’ll be able to see “Who can see your friends list?” Click on it.
  6. For me, it’s set to “Public.”

But for you, it may be set to:

  • Friends – Only your friends can see your friends list.
  • Friends Except – You can select friends who you wouldn’t like to see on your friends’ list.
  • Specific Friends – Some of your friends can only see the list.
  • Only Me – Only you and you yourself can see your friends list.

On the Desktop, you can see the “Custom” option, but that’s not visible on the mobile application.

Select “Only me.”

By doing this, you’ll make sure that nobody else on Facebook can see who your shared friends are. In actuality, nobody will have access to your pal’s list.

However, even though you chose the “Only Me” option to hide your friends, if you want one of your mutual friends to be visible to a third party, you must either contact the second party and request that they set their privacy settings in line with yours or simply add the third party to the “Friends Except” list. If not, the second person’s friends list will allow the third person to see you as a common buddy.

Conclusion

We have made significant progress. You can essentially hide anything from everyone on Facebook, and save it from your friend’s list.

As we continue to build our collection of blog entries, we’d love to demonstrate to you the full potential of each of these capabilities over the coming several months.