You’ve tried Venmo, but it doesn’t work for you. Furthermore, since Venmo is linked to your bank account, you shouldn’t simply keep it inactive. Your Venmo account needs to be deleted.
Your Venmo account can be easily deleted, but you can’t do it from a mobile device; you must use a desktop computer. Additionally, you must ensure that there are no outstanding transactions and that there is no money in your Venmo account before you may delete it.
All of your transaction history, including all of your personal and bank information, will be destroyed after you successfully delete your Venmo account. If you wish to save a copy of your Venmo transaction history, be sure to preserve the last email that will include your whole transaction history.
The actions listed below should be followed if you want to close your Venmo account for any reason.
How to delete your Venmo account
- Log in to your Venmo account on a desktop computer browser. You cannot close an account on a mobile device or in the app.
- Check for incomplete transactions. To make sure you have no incomplete transactions hanging around, click on “Incomplete” on the homepage and address anything there.
- Clear out your balance. From the homepage, click on “Transfer Money” and transfer any funds in your Venmo account to your bank account. Any funds remaining in your Venmo account at the time you close your account will not be available to you without contacting Venmo.
- Open Settings, and click on “Close My Venmo Account” at the bottom of the Settings page.
- Check your email for confirmation. Once your account is closed, you’ll receive one final transaction history email.