Read on if you’re one of the millions of users of the private messaging software Telegram to discover more about its security vulnerabilities and, if you choose, how to completely remove your account.
Soon after the 2013 launch of the private messaging service Telegram, privacy concerns were raised. The app’s default configuration doesn’t encrypt your and the recipient’s communications. Your discussions will be stored on Telegram’s servers, which are spread out across the world if you choose not to use the Secret Chat option.
According to Telegram, the conversation data that is saved on their servers is encrypted, and they keep the data in case you want to retrieve older discussions. This begs the question of why end-to-end encryption is not the default setting or why data storage is not done on an opt-in basis. Why do non-profit organizations store data when doing so is an expensive endeavor?
Additionally, there have already been a lot of problems with Telegram’s security. Hackers installed malware and cryptocurrency miners on susceptible Windows machines in 2017 by taking advantage of a Unicode flaw in the Telegram software.
Many encryption specialists are baffled as to why Telegram employs the homegrown cryptography system known as MTProto, raising ongoing security concerns about the messaging app. Telegram claims that its encryption software is secure, so why do they need their own when there are freely available methods that have been proven successful by other experts?
In fact, Telegram’s rather dubious reputation has been aided by this proprietary protocol with advanced encryption. It has a notorious history of being used by terrorists to organize attacks and disseminate propaganda, among other sinister activities.
Due to the sharing of inappropriate content, it has been outlawed in certain nations, carefully monitored in others, and even momentarily withdrawn from the app store in early 2018.
This post will explain how to completely delete Telegram if you’re concerned about the unique encryption techniques and restrictions as well as the chat app’s poor reputation.
Step-By-Step Guide: How to Delete Your Telegram Account
Your Telegram account can be deleted in a few different ways. Prior to deleting your account, you should be aware that it cannot be reversed. Even if you subsequently download Telegram again, all of your conversations, contacts, groups, etc., will be permanently erased.
Deleting by Adjusting Self-Destruction Settings
One of Telegram’s security measures, self-destruction, deletes the account after a specific amount of inactivity. You can adjust the default self-destruct timeout of six months to a shorter timeframe by doing the following:
- Log in to your Telegram account on your device and select ‘Settings’.
- Click on ‘Privacy and Security.
- Scroll down to ‘Delete My Account if I’m Away For’ and change to 1 month.
- If you refrain from using Telegram, after the one-month period is up, your account will be deleted, along with all your conversations and contacts.
You have the choice to alter your mind during the inactive period by changing the self-destruct settings. The self-destruct period will automatically reset by using the chat app. Continue reading if you want to immediately deactivate your Telegram account and don’t want to wait.
Manually Deleting Telegram
The Telegram app does not provide a “remove account” option; instead, you must use a web browser on a computer or mobile device. Take these easy actions:
- Visit the Telegram Deactivation Page and enter your account phone number in the correct international format.
- You will be prompted to add a confirmation code, which has been sent to your mobile number.
- On the next page, you can enter a reason for leaving if you choose, before clicking ‘Done’.
- A pop-up asks ‘Are you sure?’ Click ‘Yes, Delete My Account.
- Your Telegram account is now deleted and you can remove the app from your device.
If you change your mind, it is likely to be a few days before you can create a new Telegram account.
Exporting Telegram Data
You might want to export your data, such as chats, pictures, and other media, before deactivating Telegram. To download your data in JSON or HTML forms, you’ll need the most recent version of Telegram Desktop. For data exportation:
- Open Telegram Desktop and select ‘Settings’.
- Select ‘Export Telegram Data’.
- Then select ‘Export Chat History’, and choose which type of data you would like to export.
- You can now view your Telegram data offline.
Other Ways to Keep Your Data Private
Although it has been the subject of controversy before, Telegram is not the first messaging service whose security has come under scrutiny. It has never been more crucial to keep your data secret online because hackers are more skilled than ever.
Among the many things you can take to increase your online security is to use a reliable VPN whenever you are sending or receiving data online or streaming content. VPNs are simple to use and offer complete internet security, stopping breaches in their tracks. Your connection is anonymous, secure, and private thanks to several levels of protection and encryption.