How to Delete Facebook Posts in Bulk

Post date:

Author:

Category:

60 / 100
Here’s how to use the Manage Activity function in a web browser or a mobile app to remove all of your Facebook posts at once and archive your activity.

Bulk Delete Posts Using Facebook in a Web Browser

Selecting the posts you no longer want from your old Facebook posts is the first step in the deletion process (up to 50 at a time). There are a few ways to achieve that, such as filtering articles if you only want to remove certain things.

  1. Go to Facebook.com or open the Facebook app and sign in to your account. Select your name or profile icon in the upper-left sidebar or in the menu bar to go to your profile.
  2. Select Manage Posts located beneath the post composer.

  3. Select Filters to narrow down the available options. You can select specific years, who created the post, privacy levels, and items you’re tagged in. Take advantage of the filtering options to find the posts you want to delete. The filters are especially helpful for finding old posts fast without spending time scrolling through your Timeline

  4. Select the square check box in the upper-right corner of any post thumbnail you want to delete. You can only select up to 50 posts to delete at a single time. To view the full post on Facebook.com, select the post thumbnail. A window appears that shows the full post, so you can make a decision about whether you want to keep it or delete it.

  5. When you’ve chosen all the posts you want to delete, select Next at the bottom of the screen.

  6. Choose Delete Posts, then select Done. deletion is irreversible. Instead of permanently deleting these posts, you can choose to conceal them from view on your profile timeline. On Facebook.com, click Hide Posts, or on the mobile app, select Hide from Timeline. Go to your profile’s Activity Log and click the Hidden from timeline tab to reveal these postings.

    How to Manage Your Posts in the Facebook App

    You can delete, archive, or restore the content in the Manage area of Facebook’s settings. Currently, this function is only accessible via the Facebook mobile app.

    1. Select the Menu icon in the lower right corner of the screen.

    2. Choose See Your Profile at the top of the next screen.

    3. Select More represented by the three dots (…) below your profile picture.

    4. In the Profile Settings list, select Activity Log.

    5. At the top of the activity log, select Manage Your Posts.

    6. A list of your posts will appear.

      At the top of the activity log, select Filters and choose a filter, such as Categories or Date, if desired.

    7. Select the check box next to any content you wish to archive.

      You can restore archived content at any time by selecting Archive in the activity log, choosing the content, and selecting Restore. However, if you move content to the trash, Facebook permanently deletes it after 30 days.

    8. Choose Archive. Alternatively, select Trash to delete the content.

    Can’t Delete Some Posts?

    You may have noticed that when you try to delete some postings, you can only choose the conceal option because the deletion button is grayed out. This may happen for particular posts, such as changes to your profile image, posts that weren’t written by you, or posts that have specified privacy settings.

    You can delete individual posts if you are unable to delete them using the manage posts option. The postings can be deleted by finding them on your Timeline, clicking the three dots in the top-right corner of each one, and choosing Delete.

    Think about changing your settings to make prior postings you shared with friends of friends or the public available to only your friends. Limit past posts by clicking Settings > Privacy > Limit Past Posts on Facebook.com. To confirm, select Limit Past Posts. The mobile app doesn’t seem to have access to this setting.