Facebook may be the most popular social media platform on the planet, but it’s also no stranger to controversy. Whether you’re just bored of Facebook or just tired of hearing about the never-ending issues and how they may affect you, deleting your Facebook account is an easy option.
A Facebook account deletion is permanent and irreversible. Once you delete a Facebook account, it’s gone forever, and all of your photographs, posts, messages, and other data will be lost unless you join up again.
Though the procedure of permanently deleting a Facebook account is simple, the ability to do so isn’t located in any of the site’s or app’s settings or options; instead, it’s found in the “Help” section of their website.
So, you’re done with Facebook? Then here’s how to permanently delete your account.
How to Delete Your Facebook Account, Permanently
Before you delete your Facebook account, you should download a copy of your personal information from the site. If you’re interested, Facebook’s instructions for downloading your Facebook data can be found here. If you don’t download your personal data before deleting your account, you won’t be able to access it afterward.
- Open any web browser and go to the Facebook “delete account” page found here
- Click on the “Delete Account” button
- Authenticate with your Facebook account login and password, and confirm with the CAPTCHA and then click “OK”
- Confirm that you want to delete the Facebook account
For some reason, it may take up to a few weeks to permanently deactivate your Facebook account after you say goodbye. If you try to log in during that period, the account will apparently reactivate.
That’s all; you’ll no longer have a Facebook account after it’s been erased. To communicate with your friends and family, you’ll have to employ homing pigeons, smoke signals, and morse code, or simply pick up the phone and call or text… whatever works for you.