How To Delete Facebook Account

Post date:

Author:

Category:

49 / 100
Facebook is used by people all around the world to stay in touch with friends and family as well as start meaningless arguments with complete strangers over mediocre kitten videos. However, although some people view social media as a necessary component of life, others are alarmed by the data breaches and privacy concerns. The steps for canceling or deactivating your account are listed here for people who want to take a vacation from Facebook either temporarily or permanently.

How to delete your Facebook account from a browser

Facebook removal is simpler than you would imagine. To access the page where you can permanently terminate your account, click this link. Your account is permanently deleted after you click Delete Account and enter your password. But before you do, you might want to think about downloading a copy of the data you have saved on Facebook, such as images, videos, and more. Here is a helpful official guide from Facebook.

How to delete your Facebook account from the iPhone app

  1. Start the Facebook app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap the three-lined icon (hamburger menu).
  3. Tap Settings & Privacy.
  4. Tap Settings.
  5. Tap Account Ownership and Control.
  6. Tap Deactivation and Deletion.
  7. Tap Delete Account.
  8. Delete your Facebook app for good measure.

How to delete your Facebook account from the Android app

  1. Start the Facebook app on your Android device.
  2. Tap the three-lined icon (hamburger menu).
  3. Tap Settings & Privacy.
  4. Tap Settings.
  5. Tap Account Ownership and Control.
  6. Tap Deactivation and Deletion.
  7. Tap Delete Account.
  8. Delete your Facebook app for good measure.

The cons of deleting your Facebook account

Undoubtedly, deleting your Facebook account might feel liberating. Managing your privacy or consuming what seems like an unending amount of social media content are not issues for you. But some users decide to take a break from Facebook by deactivating their account rather than having it permanently deleted for the following reasons:

  • You won’t be able to access Facebook again unless you create a new account.
  • It’s impossible to use Messenger without a Facebook account.
  • Some accounts that you entered through Facebook Login may malfunction. You may need to contact those apps and websites or create new accounts.
  • You’ll permanently lose your data unless you download a copy.
  • You’ll lose your app purchases, achievements, and more related to your Facebook login on Oculus.

Can you undelete Facebook if you change your mind?

According to Facebook, it may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion request for all of your posts to be completely deleted. As part of its data policy, it might even preserve some data in backup storage for legal reasons. In addition, it provides a 30-day grace period following account erasure. Here’s how to stop the deletion of your account within 30 days:

  1. Log in to your Facebook account.
  2. Hit Cancel Deletion.

Deactivating your Facebook account

Facebook deactivation is a stopgap measure. Your Facebook page, including your bio, images, friends, and posts, are hidden once you delete your account. You cannot accept friend requests from anyone either. The recipients of your communications can still see them, though. The following are some benefits of deactivating your Facebook account as opposed to deleting it:

  • Your photos, videos, and posts are hidden but not permanently deleted.
  • Facebook Messenger is still fully accessible.
  • You can still access accounts through Facebook Login.
  • You can reactivate Facebook whenever you please by logging in.

How to deactivate your Facebook account from a browser

You can deactivate your account using the same link that permits you to delete it. Click Deactivate Account, then enter your password to temporarily lose access to Facebook. As an alternative, you can use these steps:

  1. Select Settings & Privacy from the drop-down menu on the top right.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Your Facebook Information.
  4. Click Deactivation and Deletion.
  5. Select Deactivate Account and hit Continue to Account Deactivation.
  6. Enter your password and deactivate your account.

Tips for using Facebook safely

We recognize that some users may have safety concerns even if they don’t wish to remove or deactivate their Facebook accounts. You can take action to better control your security and privacy settings on Facebook. The following advice could be helpful:

  • Set a long, unique password for your Facebook account. You can use a trusted password manager to make the task easier.
  • Avoid oversharing information on Facebook. Threat actors can use it for social engineering.
  • Be careful when accepting friend requests. Limit posts to trusted friends and not the public.
  • Limit the audience of old posts on your Timeline by clicking General > Privacy > Your Activity > Limit Past Posts.
  • Stop Facebook from using your data to show you tailored ads by clicking General > Ads > Ad Settings.
  • Manage third-party apps that have access to your data by clicking General > Apps and Websites.
  • Beware of social media scams and be careful which links you click on Facebook or in Messenger.