Facebook Show Offline

Post date:

Author:

Category:

52 / 100
In order to browse anonymously, this article discusses how to seem offline while using Facebook and Facebook Messenger. The Facebook and Messenger iOS and Android apps are covered in the instructions, as well as Facebook on the PC.

How to Appear Offline on Facebook Using a PC or Mac

Friends may see that you’re online when you’re using Facebook or Facebook Messenger and decide that it’s a good time to message you. What to do if you want additional privacy is given below.

  1. Navigate to Facebook.com and select the Messenger icon.
  2. Select Options (three dots).

  3. Select Turn Off Active Status.

  4. Choose to Turn off active status for all contacts if you don’t want to be disturbed by anyone.

  5. Select Turn off active status for all contacts except if you don’t want to be disturbed by most people, but want to be available to a select few. You can designate friends who can see your online status.

  6. Choose to Turn off active status for only some contacts if there are only a few people to whom you prefer to remain incognito.

  7. Select Okay when you’ve made your selection. Your active status remains off until you turn it back on.

How to Appear Offline on Facebook Using an iOS or Android Device

You can manage whether you show as online or offline using the Facebook apps for iOS and Android.

  1. Tap Menu (three lines) in the lower-right corner (iOS) or upper-right corner (Android).

  2. Scroll down and tap Settings & Privacy.

  3. Tap Settings.

  4. Scroll down to the Privacy section and tap Active Status.

  5. Tap the toggle next to Show when you’re active to turn it off.

  6. Tap Turn Off to confirm.

There are techniques to prevent people from discovering you on Facebook in addition to occasionally becoming invisible to your Facebook pals.

How to Go Offline on the Facebook Messenger App

Turn off Active Status directly from the Messenger app for iOS or Android, as well.

  1. From the Chats tab, select your profile picture.

  2. Tap Active Status.

  3. Toggle off Active Status, then tap Turn Off to confirm.

You can continue to send messages and participate in ongoing conversations even after you turn off Active Status.